Old world monkeys - Parvorder Catarrhini

They are, in turn, split into two families, the Cercopithecinae, and the Colobinae.

The Cercopithercinae are split into 2 tribes Cercopithecini with 6 genera, and Papionini with 7 genera

Taking the tribe Cercopithecini first,.  The monkeys are then genera here are Allenpithecus, Miopithecus and Allochrocebus (they are written with the name on the photo – hover your mouse over them for the name to appear.


Next is Erythrocebus – patas monkeys (3) & Chlorocebus – vervet monkey (7)

Here I will include the last genus which is the Cercopithecini (guenons), though this has many species, which are subdivided into 3 groups.

                                Diana group                                                                        Hamlyni                                                                                        Mitis group

The next group of Guenons is


The last two groups are Neglectus which only has one member (and is the first in the grid below, and the 5 in the Mona group 


Having finally finished that tribe, we move on to the Papionini which is the second tribe in this subfamily of the primate family. This Tribe has 7 genera. Theropithecus – (gelada), Rungwecbus (Kipunji), Mandrillus (Mandrills), Lophocebus (crested Mangabeys),   and Theropithecus (Gedalda) (click on each image to jump to the corresponding part of the page.

Next genus is Papio, which is the worlds baboons.

The Next genus is Cerocobus, which is the group of white eyelid mangabay

The next Genus is Theropithicus. While there are 3 extinct species in this genus only the Gedalda Baboon survives (this is not a true baboon, which is why it is not included in Papio). Included in this row is also Genus Rungwecebus, which only consists of one species, the kipunji.

Genus Manddrillus contains only 2 species. The mandrill and the Drill

The last group to cover, before we get to the Macaques, is the crested Mangabeys – Genus Lophecebus -2 species (each with subspecies – covered within each of their separate pages).

The last group that we need to cover is the Genus Macaca better known as macaques. They are split into 5 groups which I willl handle one by one.

The first group is the Barbary group with just one species (start of the first line), the second group Crab-eating macaques with 2 members and the last group Rhesus macaques with 3 members (bottom row)

The next group is the Southern Pig-tailed macaques

Next we move on to the other family of the old world monkeys which is Colobinae

This is split into three groups, which I will deal with one at a time.


African group of old world monkeys

Firstly The Africa group then the Langar leaf monkey group and finally the Odd nosed group

So with the Africa group, there are 3 genera



I am going to deal with the black and white colobus (genus Colobus) alongside the olive Colubus (Procolobus). There are 5 black and white colobus, the bottom right picture is the Olive colobus

Lastly, the genus Piliocolobus, which is the red colobus family

Next, is the Langar (leaf monkey group)

and the first genus is Semnopithecus- these are the grey langur’s also known as the Hanuman langurs.

The second genus is Lutung, which consist of the  genus Trachypithecus (this comes from two Greek words τραχύςtrachýs which means “rough” and πίθηκοςpíthekos which means “monkey”). This has a large number of species, so I have included their groups names (it is split into 4)

The last genus in this group (Langur (leaf monkey) group) is Genus Presbytis which is the surilis

Finally, we have the odd nosed group which is made up of 4 groups

Genus Pygathrix – doucs


Genus Rhinopithecus – snub-nosed monkeys


Genus Nasalis – proboscis monkey & Genus Simias – pig-tailed langur (and that is the end of the list of Old world monkeys)


See Animals Wild