New World Monkeys - Parvorder Platyrrhini

While not as numerous as the old world monkeys, there are still 60 species found in south America. These are split into 5 families which we will deal with one by one.

  1. Family Callitrichidae (Also known as Arctopitheci or Hapalidae – this family has been at times considered a subsfamily of Cebidae): marmosets and tamarins (and Lion Tamarins). this family consists of 7 living genus.

So firstly Tamarins. There are 2 genus

Genus Saguinus, subgenus Saguinus

Second Subgenus Tamarinus

Second Genus Leontocebus

Next we have Genus Leontopithecus which is the genus of Lion Tamarins

Finally, we have 25 marmosets across 4 genus 

Next the Cebidae family – these are made up of capuchin and squirrel monkeys.

First Subfamily Cebinae, which contains 2 genus

The genus Cebus the is the gracile capuchin monkeys

The other genus is Sapajus which are the robust capuchin monkeys

The other Subfamily Saimiriinae  is made up of the squirrel monkeys. This has only one genus: Saimiri

The third is family Aotidae which consists of the night (or owl) monkeys 

Firstly, Actus Lemurinus (grey necked) Group

and secondly, Genus Aotus azarae (red necked) Group

The fourth is family Atelidae. This contains 2 subfamilies the first of which is Subfamily Alouattinae.

This contains just Genus Alouatta which is howler monkeys. This genus is split into 3 groups – we will cover the first 2 groups in one gallery (name of group will be included with name of species

The third group of this genus is Alouatta seniculus group, which has more species.

The other Subfamily Atelinae contains both spider and wooly monkeys.

This has 3 genus

Firstly, Genus Ateles, spider monkeys

The second genus is Genus Brachyteles, the muriquis woolly spider monkeys 

The third genus is Genus Lagothrix containing the  woolly monkeys

The last south american subfamily of monkeys is Pitheciidae.

This contains 2 sub families which we will deal with in turn

Subfamily Callicebinae, titis Which contains 3 genus 

The first genus is Genus Callicebus

 The second Genus is  Cheracebus

and the third Genus is Plecturocebus (a titi monkey genus)

Lorisidae and Alles

Lorisoidea is a superfamily (each family of mammals is broken into superfamilies and then families, and the genera and then species)  of  nocturnal  primates  found throughout Africa and Asia. Members include the galagos (another name for bushbabies) and the lorisids. As strepsirrhines, lorisoids are related to the lemurs of Madagascar and are sometimes included in the infraorder Lemuriformes, although they are also sometimes placed in their own infraorder, Lorisiformes. However, in this large page, I have put Lemurs beside old world monkeys – should you wish to view them, you can click here for a link back to their section of the page.

Lorisidae: is made up of 2 branches: family Lorisidae (which we will deal with first) and the family Galago

Family Lorisidae is split into 2 sub-families, Subfamily Lorisinae and Subfamily Perodicticinae

Subfamily Lorisinae has 3 genera

Genus Loris, the slender lorises (2 species) , Genus Nycticebus which is slow lorises (8 species) and Genus Xanthonycticebus, the Pygmy slow loris (1 species). All of these will be included in the gallery below (in that order). As always, in order to see the page about the animal in question, click on it.

Subfamily Perodicticinae contains 2 genus 

Genus Perodicticus (the 3 species of Potto) and  Genus Arctocebus (2 species) on the second line

Family Galago: There are 6 surviving galago genera which we will handle one by one

1. Genus Euoticus, needle-clawed bushbabies (2 species)

2. Genus Galago, lesser galagos, or lesser bushbabies. This contains 2 groups Galago senegalensis group (3 species) and Galago matschiei group (1 species) (in that order)

3. Next we will cover Genus Galagoides, western dwarf galagos (3 species) and Genus Otolemur, greater galagos, or thick-tailed bushbabies (also 3 species) in that order

Now Genus Paragalago, eastern dwarf galagos which come in 2 groups Paragalago orinus group (2 species) Paragalago zanzibaricus group (3 species) and Genus Sciurocheirus, squirrel galagos (4 species)


All tarsierforms come from the family Tarsiidae which has 3 genera and a total of 18 species

  1. Genus Tarsius which contains 12 species

The other 2 genera are smaller so we will combine them. Genus Carlito contains 1 speices The Philipennes tarsier (3 subspecies) and Genus Cephalopachus which also only contains 1 species the Horsfield’s tarsier(4 subspecies) 

That completes this large and complex family. Over time, every species (and therefore picture) should have a page sitting under it about the species. Should there be any sub-species, they will be covered on their page.

More importantly, over time each species will also have a list of places that you can go and see them.

See Animals Wild