Cervidae is the family of deer. It is a close relation of Bovidae, which includes antelopes and giraffe.

There are 2 branches of this family Cervinae (Old World deer) and Capreolinae  (New World  deer).

So in Cervinae there are 31 species.

The first tribe in Cervini is Munticini

Munticini includes just 2 genus

Genus Elaphodus contains just one species, that of the Tufted deer

Genus Muntiacus contains 12 species, all of the worlds Muntjac species

The other (2nd) tribe is Cervini (true deers) and includes 7 genus some of these only have a few species so will be dealt with together.

In the first group we will include:

Genus Ruserus (1 species), Genus Panolia (1 species), Genus Elaphurus (1 species), Geuns Dama (2 species) in that order.

and now just one genus on each set

Genus Axis

Genus Cervus

Gens Rusa

Capreolinae  which is the new world sub-family of deer. This includes 3 tribes of deer

Tribe Capreolini which includes 2 genus

Genus Capreolus (2 species) and Genus Hydropotes  (1 species) (pictures in this order)

Also Tribe Alcenini which includes one Genus Alces with just one speices – the elk


The last tribe is Tribe Odocoileini which includes 7 genus

I will deal with these 7 genus in two blocks

In the first block:

Genus: Blastocerus 1 (species), Hippocamelus 2, Odocoileus 3, Ozotoceros 1, Pudu 2 and Rangifer 1

Last genus is genus Mazama

If you want to return to the Ruminants family page click here

See Animals Wild